Week 1 Update

So, week 1 was a total bust in terms of training.  But it was Christmas, so I think I can be forgiven for not going to the pool and drinking too much wine.  My operated hip has also been very sore – mostly the muscles in the area.  They are weak from not being used for 2 months – it is going to take some time to get them back up to where they used to be.  It is weird to be sore on only one side of my rear.  But no more excuses from here on out –  not even for New Years or my birthday.  I don’t have enough time between now and June to give myself any more “free” weeks.

This week I start working out at the pool (not just the hot tub) and start my healthy eating plan (no sugar, no beer, no white flour carbs, no potatoes, no fun…).   

By next week – I plan on commuting to work on my bike again.  I have really missed it.  It is a short ride – 4 miles.  All downhill there, mostly uphill on the way back.  It is a great way to start the day – a long fast ride with a great view of Bellingham Bay.  Of course, the ride home could be a challenge this soon.   I usually have a ton of weight on the back of my commuter bike – laptop, books, cloths etc, so it is a hard climb on the way home.   I might have to cheat at first – take the bus up the hill on the way home and then coast 1 mile back down to my house.   That will be a bit depressing, but might be neccesary.  I guess I’d rather take the cheat then not be able to ride in at all.

My commuter bike is great and was a present from my husband when we moved to Bellingham.  It is a Giant TranSend with some upgrades: multi-speed internal gear rear hub (8 speed) with a generator front hub to run the front and rear lights when you are pedaling.   The lights are super bright, even the rear one.  I know this  because when I first started commuting – this 60 year old guy complimented me on it as he smoked past me.  I tried to catch him – but 8 speeds will only get you so far.   Below is a picture of the Giant.  (my backup commute “bike” is in the background).   Hopefully both bikes will get out of the garage this week.

Leave a Reply

