Training Update, Week 2

I am going to raise a pint tonight!   I met my February 1st traning goal already.  I rode a hard 30 minutes on the stationary bike yesterday with a total mileage of just over 10 miles.  I think my quick improvement was due to two things: (1) I used my MP3 player with my bike riding music on it, and (2) I ditched riding the stationary recumbant and tried a regular stationary bike.  I found the upright bike much easier, probably because I am not used to riding a recumbant.  I am sore today, but not as bad as I feared I would be.  But, I know I probably over did it.  I felt a few little pulls now and then in some of the muscles/tendons around the hip while riding.  So, I am going to stay with the 30 minutes until February 1 and not add time or mileage until then.  I’ll give myself the next few weeks to feel all accomplished – then I’ll take out the road bike, try it for real, and probably re-think this whole thing!

2 Responses to Training Update, Week 2

  1. Karen Edgerton says:

    Congrats on the great ride! I’m very jealous. Be careful not to ramp up too fast. I pushed myself the last couple of weeks, and I’m paying the price. My PT ‘grounded’ me for a few days.
    Glad to hear it’s going so well!
    Karen

  2. JT says:

    Awesome news! I’ll raise a pint to you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

