“Can’t Do” mentality

I have been trying to get myself motivated to train – and through this effort discovered something about my attitude.  Simply put – it ain’t good.

Since my diagnosis about a year ago, and especially following my surgery, I have had a “can’t-do” mentality.  I can’t go for a hike, I can’t kick the ball around with my kids, I can’t ride at the bmx track, I can’t play softball, I can’t ride up that hill out of the saddle, I can’t walk to the store, etc.     

My hips have hurt me on and off since I was a teenager, but I never believed I couldn’t do something.  I just worked around it and went on as best I could.  I didn’t worry; I didn’t question too much (or at all really); I just thought about being outdoors and about having fun.   I got on my bike and felt like this: 

 Now I find that I worry and ‘what-if’ and question and doubt.  I don’t want to do this anymore.  I want my ‘can-do’ attitude back. 

A person starts to live when he can live outside himself.” – Albert Einstein

2 Responses to “Can’t Do” mentality

  1. ojulius says:

    You CAN DO it girl, keep up the hard work! Pain is, unfortunately, part of the healing process.

  2. Terri says:

    I can totally relate. I doubt everything now and am having trouble staying motivated. It all seems like one step forward, two steps back. I don’t know the answer, other than just keep trying and reward yourself for small gains.

Leave a comment