About

I am a 39 year old engineer, married mother of 3, who likes to camp, hike and ride her bike(s).  I live in Bellingham, WA, which is an amazingly beautiful place to live as long as you like rain.

Bellingham Aerial Photo

In 2009, I was diagnosed with bilateral hip dysplasia after a long period of increasing hip pain and loss of mobility.  I had no idea what it was and when I went to the internet for information, I founds alot of sites about dogs – which weren’t all that helpful.  Luckily, there are several other women and men who have blogged about their experiences with BHD, and I have gained much from reading about their journeys.  You can find links to some of these sites listed under “blogroll”.   

I am presently recovering from hip surgery (periacetabular osteotomy on right hip), which I had in October in order to continue doing the things I like.  I hope to get myself back on my bike and riding at a decent clip by June 2010.  I also have a few hikes planned.  I am not sure how any of this will go.  Time, and this blog will tell.  Perhaps, someone will find some information in  here that might help them in their own journey.

Thanks to all the hippy bloggers out there – you have all been a great help/inspiration to me.

One Response to About

  1. Dave says:

    Good luck on your recovery!
    Love the name

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: